- The Short Answer: No Published Cut Score
- What Is and Isn't Verified About C-256 Scoring
- Silver vs. Gold: Two Different Ways to "Pass"
- Where Your Points Come From: The 15 Topic Areas
- Building a Strategy Around Missing Numbers
- Fees, Retakes, and What a Miss Costs
- Sequencing the Topics by Risk
- Readiness Checks Before You Schedule
- Frequently Asked Questions
- No numerical cut score for Hydraulic Maintenance 1 (C-256) has been verified from SACA; treat any specific percentage you see online with suspicion.
- Silver is an online written knowledge assessment; Gold adds observed hands-on performance on SACA-approved equipment.
- The 15 topic areas are unweighted issuer-published preparation topics, not a formal blueprint, so prepare evenly.
- CPI lists this exact code at USD $139 per Silver test, but fees vary by site and membership.
The Short Answer: No Published Cut Score
If you searched for the exact percentage or scaled score you need to pass Hydraulic Maintenance 1 (C-256), here is the honest answer: the Smart Automation Certification Alliance (SACA) does not publish a numerical passing score for this credential in any source we were able to verify. Exact question count, the split between scored and unscored items, the written item format, and the current exam revision also remain unconfirmed. Pass rates are not publicly disclosed either.
That may feel unsatisfying, but it is better than the alternative. Several credentials in the industrial and IT world share the "C-256" label, and pages that quote a confident passing percentage are often borrowing it from somewhere else. On this site, C-256 means exactly one thing: SACA's Hydraulic Maintenance 1 micro-credential, covering installing and maintaining hydraulic systems. Everything below is built only on what can be verified about that credential, and where a fact is missing, we say so.
For more on what is and isn't known about how candidates perform, see our breakdown of the C-256 pass rate and what the data shows, and for the overall difficulty picture, read how hard the C-256 exam really is.
What Is and Isn't Verified About C-256 Scoring
Separating confirmed facts from open questions is the most useful thing a "passing score" article can do. Here is the current state of knowledge, reviewed October 10, 2026.
| Scoring Question | Status |
|---|---|
| Numerical cut score or scaled score | Not verified |
| Total question count | Not verified |
| Scored vs. unscored item split | Not verified |
| Written item format (multiple choice, etc.) | Not verified |
| Practical task count and separate timers | Not verified |
| Published pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Domain weighting percentages | Not published; topics are unweighted |
| Calculator, open-book, adaptive testing permissions | Not verified |
| Silver is an online written knowledge assessment | Confirmed in SACA's certification process descriptions |
| Gold requires Silver plus observed hands-on performance | Confirmed in SACA's certification process descriptions |
The one fact worth emphasizing: SACA describes the C-256 content as a list of preparation topics, not a weighted exam blueprint. The 15 skill clauses were corroborated across SACA's micro-credential descriptions and a full reproduction by Hawkeye Community College, but they are not an official count of exam domains, and no percentage weights are attached. That means you cannot reason "domain X is 30% of the test, so I'll prioritize it." You can read the full topic list in our complete guide to all 15 C-256 content areas.
Silver vs. Gold: Two Different Ways to "Pass"
"Passing" is not a single event for this credential. SACA's structure has two levels, and what counts as passing depends on which one you are attempting.
Silver: the written knowledge assessment
Silver is an online written knowledge assessment. It is delivered through SACA's portal and administered via SACA Authorized Testing Centers and certified institutional proctors. This is the level where a score threshold applies, and it is the level for which the numerical cut score remains undisclosed. CPI's Silver testing page lists this exact code at USD $139 per test, a local Silver-only charge.
Gold: Silver plus observed performance
Gold requires Silver plus successful observed hands-on performance on SACA-approved equipment. For a hydraulic maintenance credential, this is where theory meets the wrench. Passing the hands-on portion is likely judged on correct procedure and safe execution rather than a percentage, but the exact task count and grading rubric were not retrieved, so we will not describe them as fact. What you can safely infer is that tasks align with the listed skills: replacing components, hoses, fittings, and filters, handling fluid correctly, and bleeding cylinders.
Where Your Points Come From: The 15 Topic Areas
Because no weighting exists, think of the credential as 15 skill clauses that all matter. Group them to make them manageable. The grouping below is our study organization, not an official exam structure.
Safety and Component Work (Domains 1-6)
This cluster is hands-on maintenance: adhering to hydraulic maintenance safety rules, replacing O-rings, replacing subplate-mounted, cartridge, and threaded components, replacing hoses and steel tubing, replacing spin-on and cartridge filters, and replacing hydraulic fittings.
- Safety comes first and is easy to under-study; it underlies every other task
- Hose and tubing work involves correct connection, disconnection, and supports
- Fitting replacement requires knowing the fitting specifications
- Filter work covers both spin-on and cartridge styles
Fluid Inspection and Sampling (Domains 7-9)
Here you inspect hydraulic fluid visually for the presence of water or contaminants, inspect it using feel and smell for excess temperature and lubricity, and take oil samples for lab testing.
- Know what contamination looks like and what it suggests
- Understand why sampling technique affects lab result quality
- Be able to explain what sensory inspection can and cannot reveal
Fluid Servicing and Specifications (Domains 10-14)
This cluster covers using a filter cart to clean reservoir oil, using a filter cart to change or add reservoir oil, interpreting oil specifications, identifying the proper oil container using machine manufacturer specifications, and identifying hydraulic components given a specification.
- Filter cart operation appears in two separate clauses, so expect depth
- Specification-reading is a recurring skill across oil and components
- Matching the right container to the manufacturer spec prevents cross-contamination
Cylinder Bleeding (Domain 15)
Bleeding hydraulic cylinders is the final clause and a classic practical skill. Know why air in a cylinder is a problem and the correct sequence for removing it safely.
- Understand the effects of trapped air on cylinder performance
- Know the safety implications of working on pressurized systems
One useful cross-check: MIC Institute of Technology's course credential organizes its curriculum as Standards 256.1-256.9: maintenance safety, O-ring installation, fitting installation and adjustment, hose connection and disconnection, steel-tubing connection and disconnection, filter maintenance, reservoir-fluid analysis, reservoir-fluid servicing, and component installation and adjustment. That is a provider's curriculum, not the issuer's list, but it confirms that these topics form the backbone of preparation. It does not establish a current exam version or a scoring scheme.
Building a Strategy Around Missing Numbers
When the threshold is unknown, the rational plan is to maximize your floor rather than chase a ceiling. A few principles follow directly from the structure of this credential.
- Don't trade areas against each other. With no published weighting, you cannot know how much any single clause contributes. A weak spot in filter carts could cost you as much as a weak spot in fittings.
- Weight your effort by your own weakness, not by guessed importance. Spend the most time where you are least fluent.
- Prepare for both recall and application. The written assessment tests what you know; the observed portion tests what you can do. Specification-interpretation questions in particular reward careful reading over memorization.
- Use official-aligned materials. SACA states that preparation can use any aligned text, course, or other means, and no particular preparation course is required. That flexibility means quality varies, so check that any resource tracks the 15 listed skills.
Key Takeaway
Treat every one of the 15 skill clauses as testable. Since no weights are published, a balanced minimum level of competence across all of them is a safer path than gambling on a "high-value" subset.
For a full preparation roadmap, our C-256 study guide for passing on your first attempt walks through resources and pacing, and the one-page C-256 cheat sheet is useful for last-minute review of key facts.
Fees, Retakes, and What a Miss Costs
Because the passing threshold is unknown, it helps to understand what failing would cost you. Here the picture is partial and varies by site.
CPI's SACA Silver testing page lists this exact code at USD $139 per test, a local Silver-only charge with no separate member and non-member split. That is one provider's pricing and should not be read as a national tariff; no current national individual fee has been verified. Indiana's DWD industry certification summary lists $500 for examination with membership, but how that figure applies today is unresolved against SACA's membership benefits and CPI's pricing. SACA's education and industry membership pages describe included certifications for eligible students and employees, so many candidates may pay little or nothing out of pocket depending on their institution or employer. Always confirm with your testing center before assuming a cost. Our C-256 certification cost breakdown covers the pricing landscape in more detail.
On retakes, the March 19, 2021 SACA Gold & Silver Certification Process document describes a 24-hour wait after a failed written exam, and COS Training reproduces that language. However, whether that rule applies to the current exact C-256 exam, and whether any universal retake limit exists, remains unverified. Ask your proctor or testing center about the current policy rather than assuming.
Sequencing the Topics by Risk
If you want a structured plan, here is one tied to the C-256 content itself rather than generic habits. The weeks reflect an order that builds foundational safety and component skills first, then fluid knowledge, then integration. Adjust it to your existing experience.
Safety and Seals
- Hydraulic maintenance safety rules, since every later task depends on them
- O-ring replacement and the reasoning behind seal selection
Connections and Components
- Hoses, steel tubing, and fittings, including fitting specifications and supports
- Subplate-mounted, cartridge, and threaded component replacement
Filters and Fluid Condition
- Spin-on and cartridge filter replacement
- Visual, feel, and smell inspection; oil sampling for lab testing
Filter Carts, Specifications, and Bleeding
- Filter cart cleaning and oil change/add procedures
- Oil specifications, container identification, component identification, and cylinder bleeding
Provider course hours give a rough sense of how long structured instruction takes: South Texas College lists its exact C-256 self-paced course at 40-48 hours, and Indiana DWD lists 80-85 related instructional hours. These are instruction durations, not exam length, and they are not a universal requirement. If you already work with hydraulics daily, you may need far less; if you are new, plan toward the higher end.
Readiness Checks Before You Schedule
Since you cannot measure yourself against a published cut score, use self-imposed standards that map to the 15 clauses. Before you sit for the assessment, you should be able to do the following without notes:
- Walk through the safety rules that apply before opening any hydraulic circuit.
- Explain how to replace an O-ring, a hose, a steel tube section, a fitting, and both filter styles.
- Describe what water or contamination looks like in fluid and what hot or degraded fluid feels and smells like.
- Explain proper oil sampling for lab testing.
- Describe the filter cart steps for cleaning oil and for changing or adding oil.
- Read an oil specification and match it to the correct container and component.
- Describe how and why cylinders are bled.
If any item makes you hesitate, that is your study priority. Taking practice questions under timed conditions helps reveal those hesitations, and you can try questions on the main C-256 practice test site to find gaps before test day. Once you are consistently confident across all areas, scheduling is reasonable. For timing and windows, see the C-256 exam dates and scheduling guide, and if you want to confirm whether the credential suits your goals, our C-256 ROI analysis weighs the value.
Frequently Asked Questions
No numerical passing score has been verified from SACA for this credential. The exact question count, scored versus unscored split, and cut score remain unconfirmed, and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Be wary of any site quoting a specific percentage as fact.
No weights are published. The 15 skill clauses are unweighted issuer-published preparation topics, not a formal exam blueprint, so you should prepare evenly across all of them rather than prioritizing a supposed high-weight area.
Silver is an online written knowledge assessment. Gold requires Silver plus successful observed hands-on performance on SACA-approved equipment. The numerical threshold question applies mainly to the written portion.
CPI lists this exact code at USD $139 per Silver test, but that is a local price rather than a national fee, and membership benefits may cover testing for eligible students and employees. Confirm costs with your testing center. See our pricing breakdown for details.
A 2021 SACA process document describes a 24-hour wait after a failed written exam, but whether that applies to the current C-256 exam, and whether a universal retake limit exists, is unverified. Check the current policy with your proctor or testing center.